Ella Enchanted

Ella Enchanted

It is actually surprising that most of the movies I love are based on books, just like this one. I love Anne Hathaway and I always find the role of a Princess or a royal personality so fit for her so I’ve been meaning to watch Ella Enchanted ever since I first learned about it. Unfortunately, I was not able to watch it on the big screen so it was only last year that I was able to find a copy and watch it.

As mentioned earlier, I was surprised when I learned in goodreads that Ella Enchanted is a children’s book, a retelling of our most beloved fairy tale, Cinderella, that is. And so I decided to read this the other night and was able to finish it shortly. It is actually a bit different from the movie, but I love it just the same because of the twist that the author has made on the protagonist’s character. I also love how the characters were developed, especially the Prince. He’s not the usual knight-in-the-shining-armor kind of prince who usually shows up when the damsel is in great distress but that kind of prince who is a dear friend to Ella from the beginning.

Though the plot is very familiar, I find it very creative of the author for making Ella’s character a princess with a very unlikely gift. A gift that was intentionally a good gift but we later find out that it’s not.

Title: Ella Enchanted
Author: Gail Carson Levine
Copy: Ebook
Rating: ★★★★

Leave a Reply

