Musing Mondays

Musing Mondays asks you to muse about one of the following each week…

• Describe one of your reading habits.
• Tell us what book(s) you recently bought for yourself or someone else, and why you chose that/those book(s).
• What book are you currently desperate to get your hands on? Tell us about it!
• Tell us what you’re reading right now — what you think of it, so far; why you chose it; what you are (or, aren’t) enjoying it.
• Do you have a bookish rant? Something about books or reading (or the industry) that gets your ire up? Share it with us!
• Instead of the above questions, maybe you just want to ramble on about something else pertaining to books — let’s hear it, then!

Musing Mondays is a weekly meme hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading
Musing Mondays is a weekly meme hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading

Monday is usually one of my least favourite days of the week because you know, it always reminds me that a two-day break from work in a week is never enough, especially to bookish people.  Just this weekend, I can’t help but ask myself where my weekend went because it passed by so quickly. Don’t get me wrong, it was a well-spent weekend, I tell you. It’s just that, it was so awesome that I wish I have at least 3 days off from work.For my 2nd Musing Monday I’d like to share how I spent my weekend the bookish way.

So last Saturday, thanks to my reading buddies (a.k.a Laslas Girls), I was able to attend the book launch of Manila Noir, a collection of short stories written by various Filipino authors and edited by New York–based   Filipino author, Jessica Hagedorn. Honestly, I don’t have any plan of buying the book and the only reason I decided to attend the activity was to see my book club friends. But since I’m already there, I thought I might as well get my own copy and have it signed by the authors. The book launch has actually turned out to be fun and informative. I was introduced to a new literature genre, the noir. The reading of the authors of  snippets of their work was really helpful to get me intrigued and make me excited to read the book soon.

Laslas Girls Unite (photo courtesy of Aenna)

Laslas Girls Unite
(photos courtesy of Aenna)

My copy of Manila Noir

My copy of Manila Noir

So there, hope you also had a fun-filled bookish weekend. 🙂

One thought on “Musing Mondays

  1. Pingback: Booklovers Unite: Manila Noir Book Launch | A Tub of Jelly Beans

Leave a Reply

