Filipino Friday 2014 (1) – Surprise, Reader!

image

Hello there! I’ve been following the Filipino Fridays meme since 2012 and I’ve been meaning to participate in the meme. However, for some not-so-valid reasons, I wasn’t able to do so. So, for the nth time, I will again attempt to post for Filipino Fridays.

For the introduction, I’m Cary and I’m a member of The Filipino Group, a local book club based in Goodreads, for more about three years now.

Surprise, Reader! Hello, it’s the first week of Filipino Fridays 2014! Whether it’s your first time to participate or not, tell us a bit about yourself. More specifically, tell us about your favorite book discoveries for this year. Any author you started reading this year that you can’t get enough of? A book you didn’t think you’d like, but you ended up liking/loving? Any book series that you just have to get your hands on? Have you discovered anything new from Filipino authors this year?

Tell us about your favorite book discoveries for this year.

My favorite reads this year so far are Stargirl series and the Catastrophic History of You and Me. As mentioned in my previous posts, reading these stories after reading too much non-fiction is truly a breather.

A book you didn’t think you’d like, but you ended up liking/loving?

Frankenstein. I’ve been evading this book for so long because I thought it’s scary. But to my surprise, it’s not. The lessons and theme of this book are also socially relevant so I really enjoyed it.

Any book series that you just have to get your hands on?
I’m planning to start the Game of Thrones series as my personal reading challenge this year.

Have you discovered anything new from Filipino authors this year?
Yes. My Favorite Filipino romance novella this year is Jayen San Diego’s Just a Little Rain. I also enjoyed reading All is Fair in Blog and War by Chrissie Peria.

5 thoughts on “Filipino Friday 2014 (1) – Surprise, Reader!

  1. Pingback: Filipino Fridays 2014 #1 Round-up | Filipino ReaderCon

Leave a Reply

