Filipino Friday (2): Have you ever wanted to write a book?

image

As a reader, have you ever thought about writing a book? What kind of books/stories do you want to write? Or are you now a published author, and what compelled you to go fulfil this dream? How was your journey from reader to writer? How did you go about getting your book out there?

Hello! I know that it’s Monday. But because I was in a deserted island last friday, I wasn’t able to publish this Filipino Friday post. I’ve always known that writing is my weakness so I have accepted long time ago that writing is not for me. But recently, I’ve learned that never say never because writing, just like any other skills, can be learned and developed through constant practice. Thanks to the inspiration of the so many ordinary people that I know who were able to publish their own book. So, have I ever thought of becoming a writer or publishing my own book? Yes, I’m now considering or maybe dreaming about it. But it’s more of an inspirational book because I know that I’m not the creative type. What made me change my mind about my writing stint? About two years ago, I’ve written a review of my favorite book and one of the readers in Goodreads commented and asked me if I’ve ever thought of writing a book. Of course I was surprised and I answered no because I know that I’m not a writer. But then recently, I’ve learned that a college friend of mine became one of the contributors in a Christian book by sharing her testimony. So I realized that if she was able to do that, why can’t I? We have the same God who enables people to accomplish great things for Him. Though I know that I don’t have that much stories to tell yet, I’m now hoping that someday, if God will permit it, I will be able to share my story to other people through my book. :))

Leave a Reply

