Filipino Friday (3): What do you think of fanfiction?

image

Fanfiction is pretty popular, no doubt about it, but it has been received with mixed feelings by many authors and writers. Some don’t mind it, and even welcome readers who give their own spin on their work. Some writers don’t like it at all, to the point that they contact fanfiction authors to take their work down. Others use it as a jump-off point for their own writing.

How about you? What is your take on fanfiction? Do you read fanfiction, and if you do, what kind of fanfiction do you read? Do you write fanfiction, and why? Or are you against fanfiction? Enlighten us.

I first learned about fanfiction during my first appearance to TFG meet up. Honestly, although I heard a lot about it, I’m not sure if I have ever read a product of fanfiction.
My take? Hmm, maybe I’ll give fanfiction a try first. But personally, I don’t have anything against fanfiction writers. I believe that their works are still products of their own imagination. I mean, even though they first got the idea from other authors, they still have to work on the details of the plot, the character and even the conversation, right? And they say imitation is the highest form of flattery so if I am an author and someone wrote a fanfiction based from my work, I think I will be honored, haha!

But for now, because of this question, I think I need to go and check out some fanfic websites.
Happy weekend!

One thought on “Filipino Friday (3): What do you think of fanfiction?

  1. Pingback: Filipino Friday Roundup #3: Fanfiction | Filipino ReaderCon

Leave a Reply

