Filipino Friday (4): Let’s Talk About Diverse Books

image

Do you think we have enough diversity in the books that we read? Are our choices enough to satisfy our different tastes? Are our writers able to present the variety of people, culture, lifestyle, interests and so on? How diverse are your reading interests, and are you able to find enough books to satisfy your reading needs? Do you think we need more diverse books?

Before I answer this question, allow me to shoutout, friends!!
I can’t believe I was finally able to reach this far in this weekly meme! So, yay! #achievementUnlocked!

*Okay, let me now answer the question/s.*

Do you think we have enough diversity in the books that we read?
Diversity? In terms of reader’s access to a number of selections of books here in our country, I believe yes. This is very evident in the growing number of bookstores here in our country. However, most of these selections are foreign books so in terms of diversity in the local scene, I don’t think that we have enough selections to satisfy all the Filipino reader’s taste. Or maybe, if there’s enough, it’s not widely promoted.

As to my reading preference, I have a very diverse taste when it comes to my reading preference and I’m glad that our local bookstores are still able to meet my reading needs. 😀

Leave a Reply

